| Momentum Bucket | Early Stage |
| Legal Title | AN ACT Relating to making financial education instruction a graduation requirement in public schools; |
| Bill Description | Making financial education instruction a graduation requirement in public schools. |
|
What this bill does
Powered by Legitron |
The act amends RCW 28A.300.468 and adds a new section to chapter 28A.230 RCW to require school districts that operate high schools to provide instruction in the state financial education learning standards and to publicize those offerings. OSPI must, after consulting the financial education public‑private partnership, make a list of instructional materials aligned with RCW 28A.300.469 available to all districts. Through the end of the 2027–28 school year districts must offer all students in grades 9–12 opportunities to access the standards and publicize availability; districts are encouraged to award high school credit. Beginning with the graduating class of 2031, students must meet the state financial education learning standards to graduate, though principals may grant individual waivers for grade 12 students who could not meet the requirement due to prior residence outside Washington. The requirement applies to charter schools and state‑tribal education compact schools to the same extent as to school districts, and charter school commission actions must be completed within existing funds.
The act creates a new statutory graduation requirement and imposes procedural obligations and reporting duties rather than creating a new crime or changing criminal penalties. The financial education public‑private partnership must submit a statewide implementation plan by December 31, 2026 (requirement expires August 1, 2027). The State Board of Education must recommend adjustments to ensure students have opportunities to meet the requirement and report those recommendations by December 31, 2026, and must review and monitor compliance and provide a summary for school years 2027‑28 and 2028‑29 to the appropriate legislative committees by January 10, 2030. The act is null and void if specific funding referencing it is not provided in the omnibus appropriations act by June 30, 2025.
Important details are not included in the extracted text: the content of the state financial education learning standards (RCW 28A.300.469) is not provided; the partnership’s composition and prior duties are not described; specific instructional content, assessment methods, credit amounts, or competency measures are not specified; the full criteria and process for waivers beyond prior out‑of‑state residence are not set out; the particular legislative committees to receive reports and the amount or source of required funding are not identified.
|
|
Why it matters
Powered by Legitron |
If enacted, high schools will have to offer instruction in the state financial education learning standards and publicize that offering and its connection to graduation; by the class of 2031 students must meet those standards to graduate (with individual waivers possible for some students who recently lived out of state). OSPI will provide a list of aligned instructional materials after consulting the public‑private partnership, the State Board will monitor and report on early implementation, and the partnership must submit an implementation plan and the Board must recommend adjustments by the end of 2026; charter and state‑tribal compact schools are included, and charter commission actions must fit within existing funds.
Practically, districts and high schools are likely to need to add or adapt courses and delivery methods, publicize offerings to families, and invest time and money in materials and teacher professional development (the bill contemplates recommending grants and additional funding but does not specify amounts). There is significant uncertainty about the exact curriculum content, how mastery will be assessed or credited, waiver criteria, and the amount of state funding; moreover the entire act is void unless specific funding is included in the omnibus appropriations act by June 30, 2025, creating a clear funding risk for implementation.
|
| Official Documents | View Full Bill Text |
| Hearing | House Education (Public) |
| Hearing | House Education (Executive) |
| Hearing | House Appropriations (Public) |
| Hearing | House Appropriations (Executive) |